• Sunset Icon SUNSET:
  • Full Moon Icon MOON: 90% Waxing Gibbous
Interactive star Chart
Loading Events

« All Events

Streaming | June Solstice

June 20 @ 2:30 pm - 4:00 pm MST

June Solstice 2020 | Summer Solstice at Lowell Observatory
Celebrate the 2020 June Solstice from the comfort of your home beginning at 2:30pm MST/PDT (5:30pm EDT) on June 20, when Lowell Observatory live-streams from the Giovale Open Deck Observatory (https://lowell.edu/godo). The June solstice in 2020 occurs on Saturday, June 20 at 2:43 pm MST/PDT (9:43 pm GMT), when the northern portion of Earth’s axis is pointed exactly toward the Sun. On the June solstice, the sun rises and sets at its furthest points north in the Northern Hemisphere, where the solstice marks the longest days of summer. In the Southern Hemisphere, the June solstice marks the shortest days of winter, as the southern portion of Earth’s axis is pointed exactly away from the Sun.

Details

Date:
June 20
Time:
2:30 pm - 4:00 pm
Event Category:
Website:
https://youtu.be/0Ng4Pa0hGi4

Organizer

Lowell Observatory (Virtual)
Phone:
9282682906
Email:
hcraig@lowell.edu

Venue

Lowell Observatory YouTube Channel
1400 W Mars Hill Rd
Flagstaff, 86001 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
9287743358