Sky & Telescope magazine, founded in 1941 by Charles A. Federer Jr. and Helen Spence Federer, has the most experienced staff of any astronomy magazine in the world. Its editors are virtually all amateur or professional astronomers, and every one has built a telescope, written a book, done original research, developed a new product, or otherwise distinguished him or herself. Several of S&T's editors over the years have been honored by the world's astronomers by having asteroids named after them, and our designers and artists have had their extraordinary talents recognized by their peers in the magazine-publishing industry.

If you select a highlighted name from the following list, you'll call up a brief biography of that staff member.


Editor in Chief
Peter Tyson

Senior Editors
J. Kelly Beatty
Alan M. MacRobert

Science Editor
Camille Carlisle

News Editor
Monica Young

Associate Editor
Sean Walker

Observing Editor
Diana Hannikainen

Consulting Editor
Gary Seronik

Editorial Assistant
Sabrina Garvin

Art, Design & Digital

Art Director
Terri Dubé

Illustration Director
Gregg Dinderman

Leah Tiscione

Scilla Bennett


Senior Contributing Editors
Dennis di Cicco
Robert Naeye
Roger W. Sinnott

Contributing Editors
Howard Banich
Jim Bell
Trudy Bell
John E. Bortle
Greg Bryant
Thomas A. Dobbins
Alan Dyer
Tom Field
Tony Flanders
Ted Forte
Sue French
Steve Gottlieb
David Grinspoon
Shannon Hall
Ken Hewitt-White
Johnny Horne
Bob King
Emily Lakdawalla
Rod Mollise
James Mullaney
Donald W. Olson
Jerry Oltion
Joe Rao
Dean Regas
Fred Schaaf
Govert Schilling
William Sheehan
Mike Simmons
Mathew Wedel
Alan Whitman
Charles A. Wood

Contributing Photographers
P. K. Chen
Akira Fujii
Robert Gendler
Babak Tafreshi


Advertising Sales Director
Tim Allen

Advertising Coordinator
Kay Sanders

American Astronomical Society

Executive Officer / CEO, AAS Sky Publishing, LLC
Kevin B. Marvel

Megan Donahue, Michigan State University

President Elect
Paula Szkody, University of Washington

Senior Vice-President
Michael Strauss, Princeton University

Second Vice-President
Joan Schmelz, Universities Space Research Association

Third Vice-President
Geoffrey C. Clayton, Louisiana State University

Nancy D. Morrison, University of Toledo (ret.)

Alice K. B. Monet, U.S. Naval Observatory (ret.)